Medicine cabinet in use!

Look at that thing of beauty.

Tim caulked the open joints around the sink and backsplash, so now we can use the whole thing! (Grout still hasn’t been sealed, but that will happen soon.) It was super-fun to stock the medicine cabinet, mostly because it’s ENORMOUS. I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but there is an entire shelf at the top of “my” side that is totally empty. Tim gave me the larger side, because he figured I’d have more things to put in it, but I don’t really use a lot of lady-specific products, so I haven’t filled it up yet. (I left his side closed for the picture, but he’s got a wicked cool shaving brush in there. Maybe I should now purchase products based on how cool they will look in the mirrored cabinet.) This picture also shows off how neatly proportioned everything is on that wall. We didn’t necessarily try to space the outlet evenly between the cabinet and the backsplash, but we’re kind of jazzed it worked out that way. Plus, you can see the light fixture a little more clearly, which we just adore. It’s hooked to a dimmer switch, so it can be a soft light, perfect for steeling yourself to get in the shower in the mornings when you are only half-awake.

I toyed with the idea of shooting a video of us brushing our teeth in front of the cabinet like “Bring It On,” but I managed to restrain myself from the silliness. Additionally, any of those HGTV couples who are all “having a double-sink vanity is essential to the health of our marriage” really worry me. You seriously cannot share a sink with someone? Weird. (Not judging, never mind.) Anyway, that whole paragraph was listing seriously off-track which is: we have a sink and we can use it and we’re thrilled.

4 comments on “Medicine cabinet in use!

  1. CMG says:

    Yeah, I don’t get that either. I can certainly understand the convenience of having your own sink so you don’t have to worry about accidentally spitting on someone else or whatever- but it’s a luxury.

    • Kate says:

      Heh, I don’t think Tim or I have ever accidentally spit on each other, and we often are brushing our teeth at the same time. It is a total luxury, and it’s fine if that’s what you’re looking for in your house, but they all act as if it’s either shelling out for double sinks or thousands of dollars in marriage counseling bills.

  2. beth says:

    hooray for sink, medicine cabinet, light fixture, et al. Lovely and just right for this room!

    We are a single sink family too but I do see some occasional convenience/benefit to the double sink. People on HGTV are weird.

    • Kate says:

      That sink is SWANK. I am madly in love with it and wipe it down constantly to make it pretty.

      People on HGTV are weird. Two sinks might be nice, but with our giant medicine cabinet, we can spread out and still see in the mirror if necessary.

Leave a Reply

