Mount Rainier

Man, has it been a busy week for you? I am supremely glad it’s Friday evening. Let’s go ahead and just look at some lovely pictures, okay?

Tim and I had cause to be in Washington state this week and while we were there, Tim wanted to go to Mount Rainier. I am almost always game for a hike and had brought my Keens (that I bought specifically for hiking and then didn’t get to do much of it since purchasing them in April). What I failed to consider was how I had spent the last few weeks with practically no physical activity. I mean, I do this from time to time, launch myself into something that’s going to ask a lot of my body without really thinking through whether my current fitness level supports it. It’s how I found myself biking the equivalent of a marathon during a Market to Market ride a few years ago, despite having been basically a lump in the months prior. The real solution to this recurring problem would be to maintain some semblance of fitness, so I don’t spend the days following an escapade lurching around as if I’ve been assembled from parts and animated by lightning. Okay, noted.

But back to Mount Rainier. I knew it was going to be tough, but I was a bit concerned that five minutes in I was puffing like a steam engine while hundreds of tourists capered about on the paths with seemingly no problems between the slope and the altitude. This was not our normal state park random hike with a few hills thrown in for funsies. That being said, I was game as long as we took it slow. With many, many stops for brief rests, I followed Tim up the side of the mountain, well past the paved paths and people with small children. With his encouragement, we ended up hiking one of the “strenuous” trails for about 4.5 miles, with an elevation change of 1400 ft. It was pretty marvelous. I’d do it again, in a heartbeat, though I’d make sure to have a little more activity under my belt in the lead-up to the hike. Also, I’m making a mental note to do some training before the next time we visit Mel in Colorado and go back to the Great Sand Dunes.

And now, pictures!

We honestly had the best weather for this trip!

Even from the parking lot, the top of the mountain felt both extremely close and very, very, very far away.

Tim was well-dressed for this in clothes that breathed. For some reasons I wore jeans and a cotton t-shirt. Smaaart.

Words abused during the hike: “wow,” “spectacular,” “beautiful.”

My frequent stops to catch my breath left Tim with extra energy. He literally ran up this stretch of path. God love him.

Seriously. Wow.

View away from the mountain at the highest point we got to (elevation 6800′).

They call this part Panorama Point. Apt. (PS, that might be Mount Saint Helen’s, we weren’t sure.)

I love the layers of mountains.

We climbed that high, we were going to take a picture. Thank you random stranger for accommodating!

On the way back down, Tim leans up against a glacial wall. He said it felt awesome.

I was obsessed with the little babbling streams everywhere. Whenever the trail crossed one, I totally stuck my feet in and that also felt awesome.

This part of the stream was being fed from under the glacial layer of snow. So fascinating to see!

The wildflowers were totally gorgeous. We’re glad we climbed down the way we did, we thought the mountain and meadows were much more scenic on that side.

Amazing.

This picture is specifically for Mel, who says waterfalls are her spirit formation.

Goodbye, Mount Rainier. We’ll be back again someday! I’ll be ready for you!

This entry was posted in General.

11 comments on “Mount Rainier

  1. Doug and Marty Huss says:

    Gorgeous photos!

  2. chiclygreen says:

    Gorgeous! Looks like an incredible trip!

  3. Beth says:

    Fantastic. I love the mountains and accompanying scenery and hiking out West.

  4. Whitney says:

    Sure beats Mohican!

  5. Carol says:

    Beautiful photos of Mt. Rainier and the mountain range! I liked the wildflowers in bloom, too. Glad you and Tim had a wonderful hike!

  6. […] Island with my sister during a family vacation to Lakeside. Tim and I also had an awesome hike on Mt Rainier after a long drive across the […]

Leave a Reply

